1 May 2014

England-based All Whites stars miss Bafana game

11:05 am on 1 May 2014

The All Whites will be missing their three England-based football stars for the clash with South Africa at the end of the month in Auckland.

The match falls outside FIFA's international window and the 18-man New Zealand squad named today won't feature regular captain Winston Reid of Premier League side West Ham United, Ipswich Town's Tommy Smith or Leicester City striker Chris Wood.

Of the trio, only Wood played the All Whites' last fixture, a 4-2 loss to Japan in Tokyo last month. Wood scored both goals in the second half as the youthful and inexperienced side came back from a horror opening 20 minutes, where they trailed 4-0, to give the Japanese a game.

Reid, Smith and Wood will remain in England to rest ahead of pre-season training.

Six teenagers have been named in the squad and another five are aged 25 or under, with two debutants.

Stuttgart's Marco Rojas, who missed the Japan game through injury, returns, while another midfielder, the Dutch cup hero Ryan Thomas, is in line for his home debut.

Thomas scored a match-winning double for his unheralded PEC Zwolle against Ajax in the recent Dutch Cup final.

Uncapped New Zealand under-20 midfielder Matt Ridenton also earns his first call-up and former Junior All Whites captain Luke Adams gets his first chance to step up to senior level.

Adams replaces the Wellington Phoenix's Ben Sigmund, who is injured.

Elsewhere the squad is largely unchanged from the Tokyo trip.

New Zealand Football high performance director Fred de Jong says they're trying to build depth with qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in mind.

Interim All Whites coach Neil Emblen will again take charge - de Jong says there'll be an announcement early next week around the structure of the role, following a review.

All Whites squad vs South Africa, Mt Smart, Auckland, Friday May 30th (Caps/Goals/Club)


Glen Moss (Captain - 27/0, Wellington Phoenix)

Tamati Williams (0/0, Auckland City)


Luke Adams (0/0, Wellington Phoenix)

Michael Boxall (8/0, Wellington Phoenix)

Andrew Durante (7/0, Wellington Phoenix)

Storm Roux (2/0, Central Coast Mariners)

Bill Tuiloma (3/0, Olympique De Marseille)


Cameron Howieson (7/0, Burnley)

Chris James (17/2, Unattached)

Michael McGlinchey (26/3, Vegalta Sendai)

Matt Ridenton (0/0, Wellington Phoenix)

Marco Rojas (17/1, Stuttgart)

Tim Payne (9/2, Blackburn Rovers)

Ryan Thomas (1/0, PEC Zwolle)


Kosta Barbarouses (25/2, Melbourne Victory)

Tyler Boyd (1/0, Wellington Phoenix)

Jeremy Brockie (43/0, Wellington Phoenix)

Shane Smeltz (50/23, Perth Glory)