24 Apr 2014

Hickey to captain under-20s

11:32 am on 24 April 2014

The New Zealand under-20 squad has been named to compete in the IRB Junior World Championship, which will be held here for the first time this year in June.

New Zealand coach Chris Boyd has named 28 players, captained by Blues first five eighth and returning under-20 player Simon Hickey.

Hickey is expected to join the campaign in May, during the Super Rugby break.

Boyd says Monday's intense trial match in Palmerston North gave them a strong indication of what players would bring into the team.

He says they expect to play a traditional New Zealand style of rugby - high tempo and expansive style of rugby.

The squad is in camp until Saturday the 26th of April. They reassemble in May for their pre-tournament camp in Mt Maunganui on the 20th of May, before transferring to Auckland on May 29th, ahead of their first game against Samoa on Queen's Birthday, Monday June the 2nd.

NZ under-20:

Forwards: Lachlan Boshier (Taranaki), Timothy Cadwallader (Manawatu), Troy Callander (Bay of Plenty), Geoffrey Cridge (Hawke's Bay), Joshua Dickson (Otago), Epalahame Faiva (Waikato), Kyle Harris (Otago), Mitchell Jacobson (Waikato) Tau Koloamatangi (Waikato), Scott Mellow (Taranaki), Atunaisa Moli (Waikato), James O'Reilly (Wellington), Matthew Peni (Wellington), Tom Sanders (Canterbury), James Tucker (Waikato)

Backs: Mitchell Drummond (Canterbury), Kaveinga Finau (Canterbury), Leon Fukofuka (Auckland), Tinoai (TJ) Faiane (Auckland), Jackson Garden-Bachop (Wellington), Simon Hickey (captain) (Auckland), Tevita Li (North Harbour), Anton Lienert-Brown (Waikato), Damian McKenzie (Waikato), Richard Mo'unga (Canterbury), Joshua Renton (Otago), Vincent Tavae-Aso (Auckland), Tauasosi Tuimavave (Wellington)