17 Apr 2014

Cyclists aiming for Glasgow podiums

1:13 pm on 17 April 2014

A 14-strong New Zealand track cycling team, intent on bettering their nine medal haul in India four years ago, has been named for this year's Glasgow Commonwealth Games.

The reigning World Champion sprint trio of Ethan Mitchell, Sam Webster and Eddie Dawkins lead the lineup.

Also included are the other medallists from the world championships - Simon van Velthooven, Tom Scully and Marc Ryan

Bike New Zealand high performance director Mark Elliott says the nucleus of the team is based on the men's sprint and endurance programmes that had success at the London Olympics and this year's world champs in Colombia.

At the world champs in Cali in February, New Zealand won five medals, one gold, one silver and three bronze.

The only member of the team who hasn't competed at world championship or Olympic level is the Taupo rider Patrick Bevin, who paired up with Tom Scully to win the Madison at January's World Cup event in Mexico.

The full team is:

Shane Archbold - Men's Endurance

Patrick Bevin - Men's Endurance

Pieter Bulling - Men's Endurance

Aaron Gate - Men's Endurance

Dylan Kennett - Men's Endurance

Marc Ryan - Men's Endurance

Tom Scully- Men's Endurance

Matt Archibald - Men's Sprint

Eddie Dawkins - Men's Sprint

Ethan Mitchell - Men's Sprint

Simon van Velthooven - Men's Sprint

Sam Webster - Men's Sprint

Lauren Ellis - Women's Endurance

Jaime Nielsen - Women's Endurance