12 Apr 2014

Third relay team makes Glasgow team

7:43 am on 12 April 2014

A 16-strong New Zealand swim team has been named for July's Commonwealth Games, with a third relay team qualifying in the final event of the national swimming championships in Auckland.

The women's four by one hundred metres freestyle relay team bettered the standard for the Glasgow Games by a second, in the second fastest time in the world this year.

The quartet of Samantha Lee, Samantha Lucie-Smith, Ellen Quirke and Laura Quilter clocked 3:41.50 in a special time trial, bringing a massive climax to the championships and joining the other two relay teams for Glasgow - the men's and women's 4x200 freestyle relays.

The national team is comprised of 14 able bodied swimmers, the same as for the Delhi Games four years ago, along with para swimmers Sophie Pascoe and Te Awamutu teen Nikita Howarth.

The team was named by the New Zealand Olympic Committee at the conclusion of the championships which doubled as the official trial for the Commonwealth Games, next month's Oceania Championships and August's Pan Pacific Championships.

The team is led by triple world championship medallist Lauren Boyle, the freestyler qualifying for her third event as she dominated the 400 metres to complete a clean sweep of all three of her key races, and five-time Paralympic gold medallist Pascoe, who won six IPC world titles last year and will contest the 200 individual medley.

The team includes those who competed at London 2012 - Boyle, Pascoe, Glenn Snyders, Matt Stanley, Tash Hind, Samantha Lucie-Smith, Steven Kent and Dylan Dunlop-Barrett. Added to this are swimmers who competed in last year's world championship - Emma Robinson, Samantha Lee, Mitchell Donaldson and Howarth.

The newcomers are Howick Pakuranga teenager Corey Main, currently on scholarship at Florida University, Ewan Jackson, also of Howick Pakuranga, and, competing in the 4x100 freestyle relay, Laura Quilter (North Shore) and Ellen Quirke (Capital, Wellington).

Lee and Jackson were included under the provision of a fifth swimmer for each of the two qualified 4x200 freestyle relays, after their times, added to the fastest three swimmers, were still under the qualifying mark.

The team (and events in which they qualified):

Lauren Boyle (United, Auckland) 200m freestyle, 400m freestyle, 800m freestyle, 4x200m freestyle relay

Mitchell Donaldson (North Shore, Auckland) 4x200m freestyle

Dylan-Dunlop Barrett (Coast, Auckland) 4x200m freestyle relay

Tash Hind (Capital, Wellington) 4x200m freestyle relay

Nikita Howarth (Te Awamutu, Waikato) para S8 100m freestyle

Ewan Jackson (Howick Pakuranga, Counties Manukau) 4x200m freestyle relay

Steven Kent (Coast, Auckland) 4x200m freestyle relay

Samantha Lee (Capital, Wellington) 4x200m freestyle relay, 4 x 100 freestyle relay

Samantha Lucie-Smith (Capital, Wellington) 4x200m freestyle relay, 4 x 100 freestyle relay

Corey Main (Howick-Pakuranga, Counties Manukau) 100m backstroke

Sophie Pascoe (QEII, Canterbury) para S10 100m individual medley

Laura Quilter (North Shore, Auckland) 4 x 100m freestyle relay

Ellen Quirke (Capital, Wellington) 4 x 100m freestyle relay

Emma Robinson (Capital, Wellington) 4x200m freestyle relay

Matthew Stanley (Matamata, Waikato) 400m freestyle, 4x200m freestyle relay

Glenn Snyders (North Shore, Auckland) 100m breaststroke, 200m breaststroke