12 Apr 2014

Wellington confirmed for Four Nations final

7:43 am on 12 April 2014

Wellington's Westpac Stadium has been confirmed as the venue for this year's Four Nations rugby league final in November.

It's the first time New Zealand's hosted the final of the tournament, which will be contested by New Zealand, Australia, England and a Pacific Island team.

Whangarei and Dunedin have also been chosen to host games, while Auckland will not play a part in hosting the tournament.

The New Zealand Rugby League chief executive, Phil Holden, says the tournament's a chance to show they're ready to host big World Cup fixtures in four years time and Auckland's already shown it's ready after successfully hosting the NRL Nines.

The event will kick off at Brisbane's Suncorp Stadium with a double-header, with the other Australian games in Melbourne and Wollongong.

2014 Four Nations schedule:

Saturday, October 25: Australia v New Zealand, England v Pacific Team at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane.

Saturday, November 1: New Zealand v Pacific Team at Toll Stadium, Whangarei

Sunday, November 2: Australia v England at AAMI Park, Melbourne

Saturday, November 8: New Zealand v England at Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin.

Sunday, November 9: Australia v Pacific Team at WIN Stadium, Wollongong

Saturday, November 15: Four Nations Final at Westpac Stadium, Wellington.