29 Mar 2014

Millar defends 100m national title

10:33 am on 29 March 2014

Joseph Millar has won his third consecutive national 100 metre title today.

The 21 year old lead a Waikato Bay of Plenty clean sweep, winning in 10.49 from training partner Kodi Harman (10.54) and Cameron French (10.72).

Millar will start in the 200m where he will be hot favourite, aiming for a treble double.

The women's 100 metre final went to Canterbury hurdler Fiona Morrison from Rochelle Coster from Auckland and defending champion Mariah Ririnui from Waikato BOP.

Morrison's winning time was 11.87, with Coster 11.93 and Ririnui 12.02. Morrison will later defend her 100m hurdles title while Ririnui defends her long jump title.

Billy Crayford, from Auckland took out his sixth consecutive and seventh overall men's high jump title, clearing 2.09, the same height as runner-up Jordan Peters from Manawatu Wanganui.

Crayford won the title by virtue of his 2nd attempt clearance at the winning height, while Peters took three attempts.

Auckland youngster Hamish Kerr finished the best of five others who all cleared 2.01.

Marshall Hall produced the biggest throw if his career to regain his national discus title after being upset by Tom Walsh last year.

It was the big Otago thrower's fifth national title.

Favourites Camille Buscomb and Malcolm Hicks won the 5000 metres titles.

Melbourne based Nneka Okpala won the women's triple jump in a personal best 13.24.

Nicole Bradley retained her hammer title with a throw of 56.06 and Thomas North won the men's Pole Vault with 4.20m.

The 3000 metre track race walking titles were won by Matthew Holcroft from Auckland and Courtney Ruske of Canterbury.