6 Mar 2014

Springboks announce Wales triple-header

8:25 am on 6 March 2014

South Africa will tackle reigning Six Nations rugby champions Wales three times this year during a 13-Test schedule starting in June.

The Springboks are to face the Welsh twice at home in June before heading to Cardiff on their November tour of the northern hemisphere.

As well as 13 tests they may also face a World XV in a non-cap Cape Town match that hinges on a financial agreement.

If the proposed Cape Town Stadium match goes ahead on June 7th, it will be followed on consecutive weekends by two Tests against Wales and one against Scotland.

Home and away Rugby Championship Tests against Argentina, Australia and title-holders New Zealand follow between August and October.

Ireland are first up on the traditional Springboks end-of-season tour to Europe, with England, Italy and Wales completing the line-up.