28 Feb 2014

New Zealand ironman celebrates 30 years

6:47 pm on 28 February 2014

The New Zealand Ironman marks it's 30th anniversary tomorrow when one thousand seven hundred and fifty competitors from 58 countries converge on Taupo for the race.

The favourites are defending champions Meredith Kessler and Bevan Docherty along with ten time winner Cameron Brown.

Amoung the competitors is the 54 year old American born New Zealander Scott Molina who won the inaugural event in 1985.

Molina is one of eight competitors from the first New Zealand Ironman, a group which also includes Aucklander Mike Ramsay, the only person to have completed all 29 previous races.