15 Feb 2014

Ko wins Halberg award

6:28 am on 15 February 2014

Golf prodigy Lydia Ko has taken the supreme honours at the 51st Westpac Halberg Awards in Auckland.

The golf star, who went professional at age 16 in 2013, was named the Sportswoman of the Year before claiming the Halberg Award honours.

To win the supreme award Ko headed off other Halberg Award contenders, IndyCar champion and Sportsman of the Year winner, Scott Dixon, Disabled Sportsperson of the Year winner, Sophie Pascoe and Team of the Year winner, the All Blacks.

Ko, who won three tournaments in 2013 including defending her Canadian Open title, received the news of her success during a live video link from the awards ceremony to Melbourne where she is playing in the Australian Women's Open.

To take the High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year Award honours, Ko edged out three-time Halberg Award winner Valerie Adams, world champion canoeist Lisa Carrington and swimmer Lauren Boyle.

It was also a big night for the All Blacks who capped off an undefeated 2013 season by winning the Team of the Year, Coach of the Year (Steven Hansen) award, while Captain Richie McCaw was honoured with the Sport New Zealand Leadership Award.

The Black Sox winning the Softball World Championship was selected as New Zealand's Favourite Sporting Moment of 2013 in the only Westpac Halberg Award category determined solely by public vote.