12 Jan 2014

Quarter-finalists found in Rotura sevens

7:48 am on 12 January 2014

The quarter-finalists have been found at the national rugby sevens tournament in Rotorua, with Wellington in the men's draw and Auckland in the women's draw both going through pool play with a hundred percent record.

Defending men's champions Taranaki, and women's champions Manawatu, also qualified.

All Blacks Sevens veteran Tomasi Cama in his first taste of sevens coaching has taken his Manawatu side through to the quarters as top qualifier in their pool, with two wins and a draw.

Otago edged Hawke's Bay to qualify second.

All Blacks Sevens stalwart Lote Raikabula and Wellington won all three of their matches to qualify top in pool B ahead of Auckland, who dropped one game to Wellington.

Defending men's champions Taranaki headed pool C with three wins from three with Canterbury also qualifying, while Northland headed pool D. Hometown favourites Bay of Plenty also qualified.

On the women's side of the draw, Auckland were the only undefeated team, winning four from four. They headed pool B followed by Waikato, Otago and Wellington.

In pool A, Counties Manukau edged Manawatu on points differential to be top qualifier with three wins from four. Bay of Plenty and Taranaki also qualified.