8 Jan 2014

Several Australian teams to compete in NZ Cycle Classic

1:00 pm on 8 January 2014

Seven Australian teams have entered the New Zealand Cycle Classic, which begins at the end of the month.

The five-day cycle tour has now attracted 11 overseas teams, with pro teams from England, Singapore and Azerbaijan already announced.

Among the seven teams announced today, all of them have top Australian riders in their line ups, with Pat Shaw and Kane Walker, who were part of the the overall winning squad last year, included in the Satalyst Giant Racing Team.

Team Budgetforklifts has the three times New Zealand champion Michael Vink, and the 2011 New Zealand time trial champion Westley Gough.

The 2014 tour starts on Wednesday, January the 29th, with a time trial in the city of Palmerston North.