24 Aug 2013

Pumas ring the changes for Springbok clash

7:18 am on 24 August 2013

Argentina have made five changes to the team crushed by South Africa last weekend for the return Rugby Championship match in Mendoza.

Fullback Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, left wing Horacio Agulla, prop Marcos Ayerza and locks Julio Farias Cabello and Mariano Galarza all come into the starting line-up.

Out go the injured Los Pumas trio, fullback Juan Martin Hernandez and locks Manuel Carizza and Patricio Albacete.

Wing Juan Imhoff and prop Matias Diaz have been dropped to the bench from the side routed 73-13 in Soweto last Saturday.

The inspirational No.8 and captain Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe remains sidelined due to injury and was sorely missed against the Springboks.

His continued absence means centre Felipe Contepomi, who turns 36 this week, continues as skipper.

Argentina: Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino; Gonzalo Camacho, Marcelo Bosch, Felipe Contepomi (capt), Horacio Agulla; Nicolas Sanchez, Martn Landajo; Leonardo Senatore, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Pablo Matera; Mariano Galarza, Julio Faras Cabello; Juan Figallo, Eusebio Guinazu, Marcos Ayerza

Replacements: Agustin Creevy, Nahuel Lobo, Matas Diaz, Tomas Lavaninni, Benjamin Macome, Tomas Cubelli, Santiago Fernandez, Juan Imhoff