8 Mar 2009

Waikato Bay of Plenty win women's team pursuit

7:23 am on 8 March 2009

Waikato Bay of Plenty are the first New Zealand women's team pursuit champions on the fifth day of the New Zealand Track cycling championships in Invercargill.

Sonia Waddell, Rushlee Buchanan and Jamie Neilson dominated from qualifying to finals, winning in 3.30.85, nearly six seconds clear of Southland with Auckland third.

Waikato Bay of Plenty is coached by Olympic Individual Pursuit gold medallist Sarah Ulmer and features two rowing converts in 23-year-old Jamie Neilson and former Olympian Waddell.

Canterbury won the women's 500-metre team sprint final ahead of Auckland Under 19, while Hayden Godfrey's Canterbury team beat Auckland in the men's 750 metre final.