3 Feb 2013

Van Velthooven wins keiren

12:40 pm on 3 February 2013

Simon Van Velthooven charged through a world class field to win the keirin final at the national track cycling championships in Invercargill.

The London Olympic bronze medallist showed his fighting qualities, to force his way around a superb field and hold off the challenge from Sam Webster by the narrowest of margins.

Southland's Natasha Hansen won the women's keirin final, Olympic medallist Aaron Gate won the points race and Liz Steel outsprinted the bunch to claim the women's 10-kilometre scratch race.

It completes the treble for Gate who won the individual pursuit and scratch race titles.