1 Nov 2012

Cheifs name squad for 2013 season

4:26 pm on 1 November 2012

The Chiefs have named their squad for 2013 as they begin preparations to defend their Super Rugby title.

The side includes several new recruits - former All Black loose forward Ross Filipo, who returned to New Zealand after plying his trade in France and England, Taranaki hooker Rhys Marshall, Canterbury winger Patrick Osborne and Wellington midfielder Charlie Ngatai.

Other new signings are Auckland first five Gareth Anscombe and Wellington prop Solomona Sakalia.

The side has also recruited Augustine Pulu, Josh Hohneck and Bundee Aki from their wider training group.

The squad contains five current All Blacks and seven Maori All Blacks.

Chiefs 2013 Super Rugby Squad

Ben Afeaki Prop North Harbour

Bundee Aki Midfield back Counties Manukau

Gareth Anscombe* First five-eighth Auckland

Sam Cane Loose forward Bay of Plenty

Craig Clarke Lock Taranaki

Nick Crosswell Loose forward Manawatu

Aaron Cruden First five-eight h Manawatu

Hikawera Elliot Hooker Hawke's Bay

Ross Filipo* Loose forward Wellington

Mike Fitzgerald Lock Manawatu

Romana Graham Lock Waikato

Josh Hohneck Prop Bay of Plenty

Andrew Horrell Utility back Hawke's Bay

Richard Kahui Midfield back Waikato

Tawera Kerr-Barlow Halfback Waikato

Tanerau Latimer Loose forward Bay of Plenty

Fritz Lee No 8 Counties Manukau

Brendon Leonard Halfback Waikato

Rhys Marshall* Hooker Taranaki

Lelia Masaga Winger Bay of Plenty

Liam Messam Loose forward Waikato

Tim Nanai-Williams Outside back Counties Manukau

Charlie Ngatai* Midfield back Wellington

Patrick Osborne* Winger Canterbury

Augustine Pulu Halfback Counties Manukau

Brodie Retallick Lock Bay of Plenty

Robbie Robinson Fullback Southland

Mahonri Schwalger Hooker Counties Manukau

Toby Smith Prop Waikato

Solomona Sakalia* Prop Wellington

Ben Tameifuna Prop Hawke's Bay

Asaeli Tikoirotuma Winger Manawatu