9 Oct 2012

Sri Lanka and West Indies dominate Twenty20 tournament team

11:49 am on 9 October 2012

Finalists Sri Lanka and West Indies contribute a total of five players to the ICC World Twenty20 men's team of the tournament.

New Zealand cricketers Brendon McCullum and Erin Bermingham have both made their respective mens' and womens' tournament teams.

The mens team included Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene, as captain, Lasith Malinga and Ajantha Mendis while the West Indies two representatives were Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels.

Australia's Shane Watson and Mitchell Starc, Virat Kohli from India, Luke Wright from England and Saed Ajmal out of Pakistan filled out the eleven while Suresh Raina from India was 12th man.

In the women's side, five players from champion Australia are represented while beaten finalist England has four representatives in the side.

As well as Erin Bermingham, the panel of selectors also considered Sophie Devine for the tournament team.