8 Oct 2012

Whincup wins Bathurst for a fourth time

11:10 am on 8 October 2012

Holden's Jamie Whincup survived a titanic challenge from Ford's David Reynolds to take the chequered flag in the 50th edition of the Bathurst 1000 motor race at Mount Panorama.

Reynolds overtook James Courtney with 12 laps remaining in the 161-lap race to move into second place behind Whincup, before making up significant time to cut the lead to less than half a second.

But Whincup, who started from second on the grid with co-driver Paul Dumbrell, showed a cool head on the final lap to hang on for a thrilling win by just 0.31 over Reynolds.

Whincup adds the title to the three victories he shared as co-driver to Craig Lowndes from 2006 to 2008.

It also strengthens his lead on the V8 Supercars Championship standings.

The 27-year-old Whincup joins Allan Moffat, New Zealand veteran Greg Murphy and five others as four-time winners at Mount Panorama, while the victory is Dumbrell's first in his 12th start in the great race.

Lowndes climbed through the field to finish third.