17 Aug 2012

Olazabal selects vice-captains

5:54 am on 17 August 2012

The European golf captain Jose Maria Olazabal has named Darren Clarke, Paul McGinley and Thomas Bjorn as three of his four vice-captains to face the United States in their defence of the Ryder Cup.

The trio were selected by Colin Montgomerie as vice-captains for the 2010 Ryder Cup.

Olazabal will announce his fourth vice-captain, as well as his two wildcard picks, at the end of the month.

The trio have played in 10 Ryder Cups between them, with nine wins to their credit.

The Ryder Cup will take place at the Medinah Country Club, Chicago, at the end of September.