14 Jun 2012

Four changes for Irish for second test

1:58 pm on 14 June 2012

The Ireland rugby coach Declan Kidney has made four changes to his team to face New Zealand in the second test in Christchurch on Saturday.

Tighthead prop Mike Ross has recovered from a hamstring injury and starts for last week's debutant Declan Fitzpatrick while Gordon D'Arcy is reunited with captain Brian O'Driscoll in the centres in place of the injured Keith Earls.

Andrew Trimble replaces fellow wing Simon Zebo and loose forward Kevin McLaughlin comes in for Peter O'Mahony at blindside flanker.

The match is the first test in Christchurch since 2010 because of the impact of the devastating earthquake in February 2011.

Ireland - 15-Rob Kearney, 14-Fergus McFadden, 13-Brian O'Driscoll (captain), 12-Gordon D'Arcy, 11-Andrew Trimble, 10-Jonathan Sexton, 9-Conor Murray; 8-Jamie Heaslip, 7-Sean O'Brien, 6-Kevin McLaughlin, 5-Donnacha Ryan, 4-Dan Touhy, 3-Mike Ross, 2-Rory Best, 1-Cian Healy

Replacements: 16-Sean Cronin, 17-Declan Fitzpatrick, 18-Donncha O'Callaghan, 19-Peter O'Mahony, 20-Eoin Reddan, 21-Ronan O'Gara, 22-Simon Zebo.