28 May 2012

Masons take Otago rally win and championship lead

9:15 am on 28 May 2012

The husband-and-wife rally driving team of Richard and Sara Mason have won Rally Otago and taken the lead in the 2012 New Zealand Rally Championship.

The Masterton couple led from start to finish at this weekend's Otago event, the third NZRC round of the season, winning by a comfortable margin of two minutes 13.7 seconds over Timaru's Chris West and Chris Cobham.

Dunedin's Emma Gilmour and co-driver Anthony McLoughlin wrapped up the event's 17 stages third overall.