23 Apr 2012

Waitakere United and Team Wellington book grand final spots

7:04 am on 23 April 2012

The defending champions Waitakere United will face Team Wellington in the ASB Premiership football Grand Final after both caused upsets in their semi-final second leg showdowns yesterday.

Waitakere booked a finals berth after thrashing Canterbury 5-2 in Christchurch to claim a 5-3 aggregate semi-final win and join Team Wellington who added to their 1-nil first leg home win with a 3-1 win to progress to the grand final 4-1 on aggregate.

Canterbury United's defeat means Waitakere United or Team Wellington will snare New Zealand's second O-League spot for next season, with minor premiers Auckland City claiming the other.