17 Nov 2010

Fonterra chairman re-elected

6:53 am on 17 November 2010

Fonterra's chairman, Sir Henry van der Heyden, has been re-elected for another three year term on the co-operative's board.

Shareholders also voted in two other sitting directors, Malcolm Bailey and Ian Farrelly.

They were challenged by two other candidates, Cambridge dairy farmer, businessman and former mayor of Hamilton, Russ Rimmington, and Maurice Hardie from the Bay of Plenty, who were making their second attempts to get on the board.

Elections were also held in three contested Shareholders Council wards:

Kevin Turnbull won in Northern Taranaki, David Werder in Southern Taranaki and Angela Ward in Northern Canterbury.

Candidates in 10 other Shareholders Council wards were elected unopposed.