23 Mar 2012

Dairy awards announced

3:45 pm on 23 March 2012

Hawera couple James and Rebecca Van Den Brand have won the Taranaki sharemilker-equity farmer of the year contest, in their first attempt.

Thomas Higgins, who farms at Hawera, took out the regional farm manager of the year title.

Mark Duynhoven, who works on a farm just out of New Plymouth, is dairy trainee of the year.

All winners go through to the National Dairy Awards final in Auckland in May.