8 Mar 2012

Regional dairy awards announced

2:02 pm on 8 March 2012

Shannon sharemilking couple Shaun and Liza Connor have won the Manawatu Rangitikei Horowhenua sharemilker/equity farmer of the year contest, in their second attempt.

The regional farm manager of the year title went to Matt Johnson, who manages Landcorp's Tutoko Dairy Unit, near Foxton.

Shane True, who works on a farm at Kiwitea, is the dairy trainee of the year.

Northland awards

A Wellsford sharemilking couple, Miles Harrison and Lucy Heffernan, have won the Northland sharemilker/equity farmers of the year title.

The regional farm managers of the year are Steve and Donna Griggs, who are contract milking at Waipu.

Northland's dairy trainee of the year, Benson Horsford, is a herd manager at Maromaku.

They will all go through to the national dairy awards final in Auckland in May.