27 Oct 2010

Record sized team for NZ at world championships

2:21 pm on 27 October 2010

New Zealand will have its largest team ever at the World Rowing Championships on Lake Karapiro.

The team will consist of 55 athletes in 18 boats including both a men's and women's eight.

Top contenders for medals include men's heavyweight champion Mahe Drysdale and Eric Murray and Hamish Bond, the men's coxless pair champions.

Lightweight double scull pair Peter Taylor and Storm Uru are the current champions in their class.

Also in medal contention are women's pair, Rebecca Scown and Juliette Haigh and the men's heavyweight double scull pair Nathan Cohen and Joseph Sullivan.

Duncan Grant, the men's lightweight world champion and women's single scull, Emma Twigg also have their sights on gold.

The full New Zealand team

Men's Single Scull

Mahe Drysdale

Men's Adaptive Single Scull

Danny McBride

Men's Coxless Pair

Hamish Bond, Eric Murray

Men's Double Scull

Nathan Cohen, Joesph Sullivan

Men's Lightweight Single Scull

Duncan Grant

Men's Lightweight Double Scull

Peter Taylor, Storm Uru

Men's Lightweight Coxless Pair

James Lassche, Graham Oberlin-Brown

Men's Coxless Four

David Eade, Jade Uru, Hamish Burson, Simon Watson

Men's Quad

Rob Manson, Matthew Trott, Nathan Twaddle, John Storey

Men's Eight

Ben Hammond, Chris Harris, Tyson Williams, Ian Seymour, Tobias Wehr-Candler, Adam Tripp, Sean O'Neil, Michael Arms, Ivan Pavich (cox)

Women's Scull

Emma Twigg

Women's Double Scull

Emma Featherly, Fiona Paterson

Women's Coxless Pair

Rebecca Scown

Juliette Haigh

Women's Quad Scull

Linda Matthews, Genevieve Armstrong, Fiona Bourke, Sarah Gray

Women's Coxless Four

Harriet Austin, Genevieve Behrent, Robyn Munro, Laura Fischer

Women's Eight

Kelsey Bevan, Tarsha Williams, Hayley Hoogeveen, Jess Low, Ali Burnside, Pene Smith, Paula Twining, Louise Trappitt, Francie Turner (Cox)

Women's Lightweight Single Scull

Louise Ayling

Women's Lightweight Double Scull

Julia Edward, Lucy Stark