10 Mar 2015

Duynhoven returns to council

2:47 pm on 10 March 2015

A former mayor and the outgoing chief executive of Port Taranaki have won the byelection to fill two vacant seats on the New Plymouth District Council.

Former Labour MP Harry Duynhoven returns to the council after being dumped as mayor after just one term in 2013.

Mr Duynhoven was pleased with the outcome of the byelection.

"I'm very happy about being part of the council: I think I've always been a good, constructive member of the teams I've been in, and I hope to continue doing that."

Roy Weaver has been at Port Taranaki for the last 14 years, though this will be his first stint in public office.

Mr Weaver was the clear favourite with voters recording 7310 votes, while Mr Duynhoven claimed 3804, about 800 votes ahead of Peter Barker in third spot.

Thirteen candidates vied to replaced former councillors John McLeod and Len Houwers, who resigned last year.

The new councillors will be sworn in at an extraordinary council meeting next Tuesday.