31 May 2011

Five to contest Te Tai Tokerau by-election

10:22 pm on 31 May 2011

The Electoral Commission has confirmed five candidates will contest the by-election in Te Tai Tokerau on 25 June.

Hone Harawira - whose resignation from Parliament triggered the by-election - will stand for the newly-formed Mana Party.

Solomon Tipene will contest the seat for the Maori Party, while Kelvin Davis is Labour's candidate.

Maki Herbert will stand for the Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party and Kelvyn Alp for the OURNZ Party.

The Electoral Commission says now that nominations have closed, it will begin printing and distributing ballot papers in readiness for advance voting starting on 8 June.