8 Feb 2011

10 to contest Botany by-election

3:55 pm on 8 February 2011

Ten people will contest the Botany by-election for the parliamentary seat left vacant by the resignation of National MP Pansy Wong.

Mrs Wong resigned in December last year over the misuse of her international travel subsidy.

The National Party candidate, Auckland Councillor Jami-Lee Ross, is tipped as the front-runner to replace her.

Labour's Michael Wood and ACT's Lyn Murphy are the only other candidates from parties already in Parliament.

There are three independents and four candidates from single issue parties such as the Join Australia Movement Party.

The by-election takes place on 5 March; advance voting begins on 16 February.

List of candidates

Hussain Al-Saady - Pirate Party of New Zealand

Leo Biggs - Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party

Penny Bright - Independent

Robin Caithness - Join Australia Movement Party

Robert Goh - Independent

Lyn Murphy - ACT Party

Jami-Lee Ross - National Party

Michael Wood - Labour Party

Paul Young - New Citizen Party

Wayne Young - Independent