7 Apr 2009

Raft of appointments to state boards

6:16 pm on 7 April 2009

A raft of new appointments to the boards of state owned enterprises have been announced, including former deputy prime minister Michael Cullen, who will leave Parliament at the end of April.

State owned enterprises Minister Simon Power says the Government is looking for more commercially focused boards and a change in governance will help achieve that.

Twenty-two appointments were made on Tuesday. Seventeen board members reached the end of their terms and were not reappointed. A further seven face early departure.

Dr Cullen, a Labour MP, announced his intention to leave Parliament on Tuesday. From 1 May, he will become a director on the board of New Zealand Post and take over as deputy chairman in October.

Former National Party leader Don Brash has been appointed to the Transpower board.

Former National Party president Judy Kirk has been appointed to chair the board of the Lotteries Commission. She has been appointed by the Internal Affairs Minister for a three-year term, effective from 1 May.

Paula Rebstock, who stood down from the Commerce Commission in March, takes up the position of deputy chair of the Railways Corporation.

Three state-owned enterprise boards have new chairpersons; David Clarke at Kordia, Phil Lough at Quotable Value and Sarah Astor at MetService.

The outgoing chairs - Wayne Brown, Kay McKelvie and Francis Small - had reached the end of their terms.