30 Mar 2012

String of Treaty settlements signed into law

6:22 am on 30 March 2012

Parliament passed five Treaty of Waitangi settlement bills on Thursday, with the House sitting extended hours to complete the debates.

Settlement bills were passed unanimously for Ngati Manawa, Ngati Whare, Ngati Porou, Ngati Pahauwera and Ngati Maniapoto.

Treaty Negotiations Minister Chris Finlayson says that's the most treaty bills passed in a calendar year since the settlement process began.

The settlements include the return of sites of significance within the iwi's territory and financial redress.

For Ngati Maniapoto the legislation includes setting up a co-governance and co-management arrangement of the Waipa River between the Government and the iwi.

The Crown apologised in each settlement for not living up to its obligations under the Treaty of Waitangi.