9 Feb 2012

All Blacks tipped for top Halberg award

8:20 am on 9 February 2012

The All Blacks are seen as well placed to receive the top honour at the Halberg sports awards on Thursday night in Auckland for their Rugby World Cup victory.

The last time the All Blacks won the top honour was after their victory in the inaugural World Cup in 1987.

However, this time they have beat three rowing crews in the team of the year category, including three-time world champions Eric Murray and Hamish Bond, who were named world rowing's crew of the year.

In the men's category: Richie McCaw and Jerome Kaino are up against rower Mahe Drysdale and equestrian Mark Todd, who won the Supreme award in 1988.

Shot put champion Valerie Adams is favoured to receive the women's award from the sixth consecutive time ahead of kayaker Lisa Carrington, lawn bowler Jo Edwards and triathlete Andrea Hewitt.

All Blacks coach Sir Graham Henry is also in the running for an individual award.