8 Nov 2011

All Blacks home tests for 2012 announced

7:13 pm on 8 November 2011

The New Zealand Rugby Union has announced its domestic test programme for 2012, with test matches to be played in Auckland, Christchurch, Hamilton, Wellington and Dunedin.

The season will be open at Eden Park in Auckland where the All Blacks will play the first of three tests against Ireland on 9 June.

A week later the two sides will play at a redeveloped Rugby League Park in Christchurch, which will be the first test rugby in Christchurch in almost two years.

The third test will be played in Hamilton.

Auckland will also host the All Blacks and Australia in the first home game of the new Rugby Championship, on 25 August.

The Rugby Championship - which brings in Argentina - replaces the former Tri-Nations competition.

The All Blacks will play Argentina in Wellington a fortnight later while Dunedin will host the All Blacks-South Africa test on 15 September.