1 Feb 2011

NZ team for Rugby Sevens named

6:01 am on 1 February 2011

New Zealand rugby sevens coach Gordon Tietjens has named the team for the Wellington leg of the IRB series this weekend.

Five members of the gold-medal winning Commonwealth Games side are in the team, which will again be captained by DJ Forbes.

Counties Manukau's David Raikuna will make his debut.

Another newcomer, Waikato's Rory Grice, has been bracketed with his provincial union team-mate Declan O'Donnell, who has an ankle injury.

Grice will make his debut if O'Donnell does not recover.a

The two-day tournament begins on Saturday afternoon. New Zealand will play Scotland in their first match.


New Zealand: Toby Arnold (Bay of Plenty), Tomasi Cama (Manawatu), Scott Curry (Bay of Plenty), DJ Forbes, captain (Counties Manukau), Frank Halai (Waikato), Bryce Heem (Auckland), Solomon King (Bay of Plenty), Tim Mikkelson (Waikato), Declan O'Donnell/Rory Grice (Waikato), Buxton Popoalii (Otago), Lote Raikubula (Manawatu), David Raikuna (Counties Manukau).