4 Dec 2010

Golden Boot award to Marshall praised

10:00 am on 4 December 2010

Stacey Jones has given the thumbs up to this year's Golden Boot rugby league award.

Jones, who affiliates to Ngapuhi and Ngati Maniapoto, says Kiwi captain Benji Marshall, who was Ruatoki-raised, richly deserved the title of best international rugby league player.

Waatea News reports previous winners include Mal Meninga, Wally Lewis, Jonathon Thurston and Jones himself, in 2002.

Jones said Marshall's form was superb in both the NRL and as captain of the Four Nations Cup-winning Kiwi squad.

Four Kiwis made the Golden Boot World 13: Marshall, Sean Kenny Dowell and Jason Knightingale and Tongan Manu Vatuvei.