8 May 2014

Awards for Radio New Zealand

8:43 pm on 8 May 2014

Radio New Zealand has won several prizes at this year's New Zealand Radio awards.

Stephen Hewson

Stephen Hewson Photo: RNZ

Peter Fowler.

Peter Fowler. Photo: RNZ

Hawke's Bay regional reporter Peter Fowler was named Radio Journalist of the Year for his work on the region's proposed Ruataniwha Dam. Fowler has been based in Napier for the past year.

Fellow reporter Stephen Hewson won the best sports journalist category, while Morning Report was named best spoken programme. The breakfast news programme has New Zealand's biggest radio audience.

Geoff Robinson presented Morning Report for most of its 39-year history before retiring last month. The new co-hosts are Susie Ferguson and Guyon Espiner.

Radio New Zealand's Music Mix was named as the best spoken programme of less than an hour, while Justin Gregory won best documentary for his story on composer and photographer Tim Prebble.

Other awards announced tonight:

  • Best Music Feature - Radio New Zealand's Gareth Watkins for Carmen I Am Here, I Am Me
  • Best Recorded Live Music Event - Radio New Zealand's Nick Atkinson and Andre Upston for Silver Scrolls 2013
  • Best Dramatic Production - Radio New Zealand's Adam Macaulay and the drama team for The Train Set
  • Best Studio or Outside Broadcast Recording - Radio New Zealand's Adrian Hollay for Messa Da Requiem NZSO Concert
  • Best Music Breakfast Show - Metropolitan - The Edge's Jay-Jay Feeney, Mike Puru, Dom Harvey
  • Best Talk or Current Affairs Host - Newstalk ZB's Mike Hosking
  • Best Talk Back Host - Newstalk ZB's Leighton Smith
  • Best Newsreader - Radio Live's Hilary Barry
  • Best Team Coverage of a News Story - Newstalk ZB on the Cook Strait Earthquakes
  • Best Sports Commentator - Newstalk ZB's Peter Montgomery
  • Station of the Year - The Edge