Three Northland tribes sign welfare accord

6:06 am on 6 February 2013

Three Northland iwi and the Government have signed a joint agreement at Waitangi that aims to tackle social welfare problems.

The Social Development Accord was signed by Te Aupouri, Te Rarawa and Ngai Takoto as well as Prime Minister John Key and Social Development Minister Paula Bennett on Tuesday.

The tribes say iwi descendants face multiple social pressures including health, housing and a scarcity jobs.

Trustee for Te Runanga o Te Aupouri Hugh Karena says the agreement addresses contemporary tribal issues rather than historic grievances.

Mr Karena says it also considers how the government should work with iwi to identify problems and potential solutions, as well as how they deliver remedies.