3 Mar 2009

Book award nominations issued

8:48 am on 3 March 2009

The shortlist has been issued for this year's New Zealand Post book awards for children and young adults.

Twenty books have been selected in four categories from more than 130 childrens books published last year .

First-time authors Kiri Lightfoot and Diana Neild are nominated in the picture book category.

Another debut author, Michelle Kelly, is nominated in the junior fiction section.

Maurice Gee, Joy Cowley and Jack Lasenby are also nominated.

The awards will be announced in Auckland on 20 May.