6 Aug 2012

Chiefs score resounding 37-6 win over Sharks

1:45 pm on 6 August 2012

The Waikato Chiefs have powered to their first-ever Super Rugby title with a sparkling 37-6 win over the Sharks in Hamilton.

The Sharks' longjourney from South Africa was in vain, as the Chiefs dominated territory and possession throughout the match, scoring four converted tries to the Sharks' none.

Tries were scored by Tim Nanai-Williams, Kane Thompson, Lelia Masaga and, finally, Sonny Bill Williams under the posts - a fitting way to end his time with the Chiefs.

Aaron Cruden was responsible for four conversions and three penalites.

The Chiefs become the sixth winners in 17 seasons of Super Rugby competition, while the Sharks looked drained by a third straight playoff away from home and have now lost all four of their final appearances.

The score at half-time was 13-3.

For the Sharks, Frederic Michalak scored two penalties.

A sell-out crowd of just over 25,000 stayed on at Waikato Stadium to watch the Chiefs presented with the Super 15 trophy and then see them do a lap of honour.

The home team's sporting triumph follows that of another local sporting franchise, the Waikato-Bay of Plenty Magic, who won the Australasian netball championship.

Hamilton people will be given a chance to cheer their rugby heroes at a street parade on Monday.

Emotional final for SBW

Before the game, departing Chiefs star Sonny Bill Williams said the final would be the most emotional match he's played but he had to put those feelings aside for the good of the team.

Despite heading to Japan at the end of next month, the midfielder said he had found his place at the Chiefs and described it as the most enjoyable environment he had played in.