11 Jul 2016

Prominent names out in Nauru poll

2:45 pm on 11 July 2016
Former Nauru president Sprent Dabwido

Former Nauru president Sprent Dabwido Photo: supplied

In first results from Nauru's general election three MPs who had been suspended from the last parliament have lost their seats.

In the three-member Meneng seat former president Sprent Dabwido and Squire Jeremiah have lost out to top-polling candidate Tawaki Kam, with Vodrick Detsiogo and Lionel Aingimea taking the other seats.

In Boe constituency former justice minister Mathew Batsiua was beaten by Asterio Appi, who secured the most votes just ahead of the president in the previous government, Baron Waqa, who takes the second seat.

Another former president Marcus Stephen also lost his seat in the Anetan constituency where the two members will be Cyril Buraman and Sean Oppenheimer.

Another MP who had been suspended in the previous parliament, Dr Kieren Keke, won in the Yaren constituency, with Charmaine Scotty, the only woman in the last parliament, topping the poll there by a wide margin.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs