6 Jan 2015

PNG batsman included in Aus. PM's XI

6:50 pm on 6 January 2015

Papua New Guinea batsman Lega Siaka has been included in the Australia Prime Minister's XI to take on England in Canberra on Wednesday next week.

Siaka scored a century in PNG's debut one day international series against Hong Kong in November, and has been signed by the Melbourne Renegades in the T20 Big Bash League.

Papua New Guinea batsman Lega Siaka.

Papua New Guinea batsman Lega Siaka. Photo: Steve Holland / ICC

Australia's chairman of selectors Rod Marsh says they are excited about 22-year-old Siaka, and his selection highlights PNG's growth as a cricketing nation.

The Prime Minister's XI are Michael Hussey (capt); Cameron Bancroft; Jason Behrendorff; Matt Condon; Pat Cummins; Jake Doran (wk); Peter Handscomb; Simon Mackin; Glenn Maxwell; David Moody; Lega Siaka and Mac Wright (12th man).