6 Dec 2014

Sport: EAP team named for Cricket Champs

11:49 am on 6 December 2014

The East Asia Pacific team for January's Australian Country Cricket Championships in Bendigo, Victoria has been named.

Half of the 14-strong squad are from Papua New Guinea, including captain Jason Kila, with Vanuatu contributing four players and Fiji three.

The EAP team will be coached by PNG's John Ovia, with Fiji head coach Shane Jugenson filling a mentoring role as Assistant Coach.

The development side will take on teams made up of the best country cricketers from Western Australia, South Australia, Victoria, New South Wales and Queensland in a series of 50 over and two day matches.

Full squad:

Jason Kila (C) PNG

Jelany Chilia Vanuatu

Kipling Doriga PNG

Nosaina Pokana PNG

Joel Tom PNG

Nalin Nipiko Vanuatu

Viliame Yabaki Fiji

Sekove Ravoka Fiji

Joshua Rasu Vanuatu

Kabua Vagi Morea PNG

Simpson Obed Vanuatu

Dogodo Bau PNG

Riley Hekure PNG

Viliame Manakitoga Fiji


John Ovia PNG

Shane Jurgenson Fiji