7 May 2014

EU lifts travel visas on 10 Pacific nations

3:09 pm on 7 May 2014

The European Union has removed visa requirements for travellers from 10 Pacific Island countries.

The EU has amended the lists of countries whose nationals must have visas when crossing the borders of the European Union's Schengen zone.

According to the amendment, nationals from Kiribati, the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu will be exempt from the visa rule.

The list doesn't include Papua New Guinea and Fiji.

The EU says the exemption will come into force when bilateral agreements between the EU and the countries concerned have been put into place.