13 Jun 2013

Nauru cabinet announced

1:38 pm on 13 June 2013

Nauru's new president Baron Waqa has announced his new cabinet, which includes two newly elected MPs.

A new parliamentarian, Aaron Cook, has been appointed Minister for Commerce, Industry and Entertainment and Charmaine Scotty has the portfolios for Home Affairs, Education and Youth, and Land Management.

Mr Waqa is responsible for the public service, foreign affairs and trade, climate change and police and emergency services.

David Adeang has been appointed Minister for Finance and Sustainable Development and Justice Minister and Valdon Dowiyogo is responsible for health, transport, sport and fisheries.

Shadlog Bernicke is Minister for the Nauru Phosphate Royalties Trust, Telecommunications, and the Nauru Utilities Corporation.