27 Sep 2012

Sport: Cricket PNG scholarship winners announced

10:12 am on 27 September 2012

The latest batch of Cricket PNG's scholarship winners have been announced.

Ten men and four women will be depart for Australia's Gold Coast for a six month spell playing club cricket.

Eight of the ten men awarded the Brian Bell Future Stars Scholarship will be travelling with the Barramundi's team to Bundaberg for the Queensland Bulls Masters T20 Country Challenge that will be held this weekend and will then head to Gold Coast after the tournament.

The four women awarded the Pacific MMI Scholarship will be playing for the Gold Coast Dolphins, who are in the Brisbane District competition, with the men spread across four teams.

The successful players are:

MEN: Assad Vala, Jason Kila, Chris Amini, Sese Bau, Toua Tom, Jack Vare, Tony Ura, Charles Amini, Norman Vanua, Lega Siaka.

WOMEN: Norma Ovasuru, Kaia Arua, Pauke Siaka, Tanya Ruma.