20 Jul 2012

PNG election results from Morobe show PNC ousting NA incumbents

3:30 pm on 20 July 2012

The People's National Congress is the first political party to win 10 seats in Papua New Guinea as the count after the General Election continues.

Results through in two Morobe seats show the PNC ousting National Alliance incumbents, with Assik Tomscoll defeating Ben Semri for the Middle Ramu Open seat and Gisuwat Siniwim winning Nawae Open from Timothy Bonga.

The party of the caretaker Prime Minister Peter O'Neill, the PNC, has secured or leads in 29 of the 111 seats.

The People's Progress Party of Sir Julius Chan has secured the next most declared seats with five - the latest being the Finschhafen Open electorate, retained by Theo Zurenuoc.