21 May 2012

13 politicians stand in New Caledonia's French Assembly election

1:36 pm on 21 May 2012

The French high commission in New Caledonia has released the official list of the 13 candidates contesting next month's first round of the election of the territory's two members of the French National Assembly.

The only incumbent, Gael Yanno of the Rassemblement-UMP, is being challenged by seven politicians in the constituency centred on Noumea.

They include a former Loyalty Islands pro-independence provincial president, Robert Xowie, as well as representatives of the Socialist Party and the National Front.

In the other constituency, five candidates are standing, including a former president, Philippe Gomes.

The first round of voting will be on June the 10th.