17 May 2012

Two new PNG provinces established today

1:02 pm on 17 May 2012

The formation of two new provinces in Papua New Guinea, Hela and Jiwaka, becomes official today.

The notice of commencement was gazetted on Monday after being signed by the Governor-General, Sir Michael Ogio, last week.

On the advice of the Prime Minister Peter O'Neill, the governor-general fixed May the 17th as the date on which Hela and Jiwaka will officially become provinces.

The bill to create the boundaries was passed by parliament in 2010.

The newspaper, The National, reports that Hela and Jiwaka will now run the elections as separate provinces and not as part of Southern Highlands and Western Highlands respectively.

There was much preparation done leading up to the final declaration and recognition of Jiwaka as a new province.