22 Dec 2011

Marshalls election recount breaks tie in Ujae Atoll seat

11:48 am on 22 December 2011

A recount in a Marshall Islands parliament race has broken a tie, upending incumbent Frederick Muller.

The Ujae Atoll parliament race between Caios Lucky and Mr Muller was tied at 117-all after all votes were counted from the November 21 national election.

Mr Muller, who has chaired the parliament's Public Accounts Committee and aggressively conducted oversight of government spending and performance, says he will challenge the results.

An issue hovering over the result is two challenged absentee votes from Ebeye Island that were originally rejected because electoral officials could not locate the names of the two voters on the Ujae voting list - but later confirmed that they were registered under their maiden names.