28 Apr 2011

Vanuatu Republican Party President rues missed opportunity at PM job

8:36 am on 28 April 2011

The President of the Vanuatu Republican Party, the Speaker of parliament Maxime Carlot Korman, has voiced disappointment at the resignation from his party of four MPS.

Alfred Carlot, Donna Browny, Marcellino Pipite and Samson Samsen have confirmed they are leaving the VRP, halving the number of MPs the party has in the 52-seat parliament.

At least one of the defectors, Samson Samsen, has joined the Labour Party amid the recent MP movements which led to the ousting of Sato Kilman's government no Easter Sunday.

Mr Korman, who voted in favour of the new Prime Minister Serge Vohor, was also instrumental in the vote to replace Edward Natapei as Prime Minister with Mr Kilman four months ago.

"I should be the Prime Minister before, in the place of Sato Kilman. It was me that gave the Prime Minister (position) to Sato Kilman. And they (the defectors) continue to act until today against their own party. So I'm very happy now, I have a good spirit now, because they left the party."

Maxime Carlot Korman.