18 Apr 2011

Solomons leader dumps six from Cabinet

7:33 pm on 18 April 2011

The Solomon Islands Prime Minister has reshuffled his cabinet, installing five MPs who recently crossed over from the opposition as new ministers.

Danny Philip says he's wrung the changes in the interests of the stability of his government, and for the sake of the country.

Jo O'Brien reports

"Under the reshuffle, Rick Hou will replace Stanley Sofu as Public Service Minister, Moses Garu replaces Mark Kemakeza as Mines and Energy Minister, and Clay Soalaoi takes over as Police Minister from James Tora. Other new ministers are Connelly Sandakabatu who takes over the agriculture portfolio from Selwyn Riumana, and Andrew Hanaria Keniasina who takes over aviation and communications from Varian Lonamei. Joseph Onika replaces Martin Sopage as Lands and Housing Minister, while Dickson Mua takes over the women, youth and childrens affairs portfolio from Mr Onika. The Prime Minister's press secretary David Tuhanuku, says Danny Philip made the changes after consultation with senior ministers. Five of the new ministers have already been sworn in at Government House, while Ricky Hou will be sworn in later this week."